Da Silva Storms to Victory in IronMan Round #2

Round #2 for the CalSpeed IronMan Series would take to the longest of the reverse-direction layouts at CalSpeed this past Saturday, with the Grande Counter Clockwise configuration the track of choice. As the first race of the year that sees the customary inverted start from the previous rounds results, there was strategy and on track action a-plenty, with drivers pushing to either get to the front, or stay there…

After suffering a mechanical issue in the season opener, Adam Nagao looked to bounce back in round #2 from the pole position, and would indeed lead the opening few circuits of the event. Also looking to bounce back from a tough season opener was Jose da Silva, starting in the 5th position, and making quick progress to the sharp end to meet Nagao by the end of the opening lap. He would stay there and push for the opening handful of laps before taking over the top spot, as the former leader dropped to second, with Evan Karp in tow for third. The lead trio would stay status quo for the next 10 or so laps, except with Jose earning a gap via traffic, where both Nagao and Karp instead lost time.

For the rest of the race it was all Jose da Silva, clicking off consistent, fast laps for the duration of the race, maintaining a steady gap that only widened with every battle behind him. Those battles would start with Karp vs Nagao on lap 16, the duo having finally made it past the lapped -albeit fast- traffic of Ayrton Demoss, as Karp took over the second spot. Again there would be no change for the next several laps, until round #1 podium runner Paulo Franca moved up from fourth to second just before the 30-minute board. Up and coming talent Tyler Redman also entered the conversation at that time, following Franca through to take over the 4th spot from Karp, he was demoted in quick succession from 2nd to 5th. Things would stay fairly unchanged however for the next fifteen or so laps, with everything really getting shook up when pit stops started with the 10-minute board…

Franca would be the first to blink, pitting on lap 43, with the rest of the top five coming in for each of their two required stops over the next four laps, back to back. After Franca was Nagao, then Karp, and finally Redman, but two of the four would push things too far in pit lane, with both Franca and Redman getting stop box violations in the process. What was once a four-horse race for the final two podium spots, now saw Adam Nagao and Evan Karp cruise to second and third respectively.

But out front it was all Jose da Silva; snagging an elusive second career IronMan Series win, after being very close on many occasions. By also leading the most laps of the race, he takes over as point leader as well, with one drop calculated.

Round #3 of the CalSpeed IronMan Series takes to the Grande track in about a month and a half on March 30th; spots are still available, so register today!

IronMan Series Round #2 Top 10

1)Jose da Silva
2)Adam Nagao
3)Evan Karp
4)Paulo Franca
5)Sam Hunt
6)Alyssa Yauney
7)Sean Fite
8)Tyler Redman
9)Diego Morales
10)Evan Lawrence

Points Standings after 1 Drop (Drop)

1)Jose da Silva105(48)
2)Sam Hunt103(80)
3)Adam Nagao98(24)
4)Andrew Wood98(0)
5)Paulo Franca95(85)
6)Evan Karp90(54)
7)Chris Huerta88(48)
8)Sean Fite83(72)
9)Alyssa Yauney78(72)
10)Luis Calderon75(60)