CalSpeed IronMan Series 2020 Round 7 Preview

It is the penultimate round in the 2020 IronMan championship, and it is also the only 2-hour contest on the calendar. For the last couple of seasons, the 2-hour was the second-to-last event of the season and has put up some good action and unpredictable results, and it looks to be more of the same with some of the lineups for this event.

As it is the penultimate round, we of course will be talking about the championship implications pretty heavily, which includes round #6 winner and the only driver to pick up more than one win, Michael Hazlewood. He was joined on the box last month by regular point-stealing to the sharp-end Alyssa Yauney, and former series winner Scott Milne rounding things out in third.

The extra twist here is it is a 2-hour event; not only do we have plenty of season regulars getting ready to do battle, but there are several one-off starters doing prep for the Machismo 12 Hour that looms just a couple months away.

It is a talented group however, so strategy will be a little less about traffic this go-round, and certainly more about the 5 trips down pit lane each team needs to makeā€¦

Provisional Starting Grid

  1. Ariel Rubio
  2. Celso Pierre
  3. Michael Floerchinger
  4. Max Demoss
  5. Tyler Redman
  6. Evan Lawrence/James Lieser
  7. Pietro Moro
  8. Dmitry Korotkov
  9. Chris Carter
  10. Matt Steele/John Rice
  11. Sheng Wu/Carl Zhu
  12. Patrick Britain
  13. Alyssa Yauney/Doug Yauney
  14. Sean Fite/Bill Kreig
  15. Chase Nickells/Seth Willits
  16. Paulo Franca/Jose da Silva
  17. Andres Prieto/Diego Morales
  18. Chris Huerta
  19. Michael Hazlewood/Ayrton Demoss
  20. Tom Stone
  21. Bryan Armbrust
  22. Evan Karp/Sam Hunt
  23. Cameron Rose
  24. Luis Calderon
  25. Scott Milne